Yi Mun-yol
A Writer of Hard Truths Keen Insight Yi Mun-yol was born in 1948. He made his debut as a writer in 1977. Yi’s works were enriched by the classics of East Asia that he had naturally become familiar with during his childhood and the Western literature that he had voraciously devoured in his young adulthood. In The Son of Man, Yi questioned the relationship between man and god; in A Portrait of Youthful Days, he portrayed the struggle and anguish of his youth. The Golden Phoenix was an exploration of the ontological meaning of art using calligraphy, a traditional art...
Yi Sang
Yi Sang (1910-1937) is a well-known author of the Japanese occupation period. He was active in every genre, writing poetry, fiction, and essays. His poems and stories, in particular, exhibit the characteristics of modernism in the 1930s. In his poems, he showed us the desolate landscape of the modern human mind, and with the use of anti-realist techniques in works such as “Crow’s Eye View, Poem No.I,” he gave us a stark view of his subject matter: pure anxiety and horror. In his stories, as well, he deconstructed the formal conventions of fiction and laid bare the modern condition. For...
Youn Dae-Nyeong
Youn Dae-Nyeong was born in 1962 in Yesan, South Chungcheong Province. He made his debut in 1990 by winning the New Writer Award sponsored by the monthly Munhak Sasang ( Literary Thought ). The recipient of Today’s Young Artist Award (1994), Yi Sang Literary Award (1996), Modern Literature Prize (1998), and Yi Hyo-seok Literary Award (2003), he has written the short story collections Sweetfish Fishing Reports , Behold the Southern Stairs , Many Stars Drifted to One Place , and There Walks Someone ; essay collections Things I Want to Tell Her and Mother’s Spoon and Chopsticks ; and novels...
Yu miri
Yu miri is a Zainichi Korean novelist, playwright, and essayist.
Yun Humyong
Yun Humyong is a poet and novelist who debuted as a poet in 1967 when his poem was published in the Kyunghyang Daily in 1967. His novel won the Korea Times New Writer’s Contest in 1979. His published works include a collection of poetry, An Expert Archer ; anthologies of short works, The Love of Don Juan , The Fox Hunt , Listening to the Music of Flowers ; and novels, Us to the Stars and A Generation Without a Promise . He is the recipient of the Hyundae Literary Award, Yi Sang Literary Award, and numerous other literary awards.
Yun Ko-eun
Yun Ko-eun (b. 1980) made her literary debut when she won the Daesan Collegiate Literary Prize in 2004. She is the author of a collection of short stories, Table For One , and the novel, The Zero G Syndrome .