Park Wansuh
Park emerged onto the Korean literary scene in 1970 at the age of 40 years old, when she entered her novel, The Naked Tree , into a competition run by a women’s magazine. Korea maintains a peculiar system where, in order to gain recognition as a poet or a novelist, one must win a competition held by a literary magazine or newspaper recognized by influential critics and authors. Park made a relatively late debut, in contrast to most up-and-coming writers, who emerge on the literary stage in their 20s. But she remained highly prolific until her death in 2011, and...
Pyo Myoung-hee
Pyo Myoung-hee made her literary debut when she won the Changbi Prize for New Figures in Literature in 2001 with her short story, “Nocturnal Scenery.” She is the author of the short story collections Exit No.3 and Housemate , and the novels, Off Road Diary and The Gold Rush .
Pyun Hye Young
Pyun Hye Young debuted when she won the Seoul Shinmun New Writer’s Contest in 2000 with the short story “Shaking of Dew.” Her major works include the short story collections Mallow Gardens (2005), Heading for a Breeding Farm (2007), Evening Proposal (2011), Night Passes (2013) and novels such as Ashes and Red (2010), They Went to the Forest in the West (2012), and The Law of Lines (2015). She won the Hankook Ilbo Literary Award and the Dong-in Literary Award.
Seo Jeong-ju
Seo Jeong-ju(1915 ~ 2000) was a Korean poet who wrote under the pen name Midang. He is widely considered as one of the best poets in twentieth-century Korean literature.
Seo Joon-hwan
Seo Joon-hwan made his literary debut in the quarterly Literature and Society in 2001 with his short story “Aquarium.” He is the author of the short story collection You Are the Memories of the Moon and the novels The Goldberg Variations and The Death of Robespierre .
Shin Kyung-sook
Shin Kyung-sook is a writer. Born in Jeongeub, North Jeolla Province in 1963. She made her literary debut in 1985 when her novella "A Winter Fable" won the Munye Joongang Literary Award for Best First Novel. She is the author of seven short story collections, including The Blind Calf , The Sound of Bells , Unknown Women , and Moonlight Tales , and seven novels, including An Isolated Room , Lee Jin , Please Look After Mom , and I'll Be Right There . She has received a number of prestigious literary awards at home and abroad, including the Yi...
Sim Yunkyung
Sim Yunkyung is a writer. She made her literary debut with her novel My Beautiful Garden that won The Hankyoreh Literary Award in 2002. Her other novels include The Altar of the Moon and Love Runs .
Song Ha-choon
Song Ha-choon is a writer. He made his literary debut with a short story that won the Chosun Ilbo New Writer’s Contest in 1972. He is the author of the short story collections The Fall That Just Passed By , The Daughters of Habaek , and The Sphinx Does Not Know Either , and the novels Against the Wind and Climbing the Pacific .
Song Sokze
Song Sokze is a novelist whose writing career took off with the publication of “A Man Wiping the Window” in Literature and Thought in 1986 and the short story “The Last 4.5 Seconds of My Life” in Munhakdongne in 1995. His published works include the short story collections The Last 4.5 Seconds of My Life , Possessed , Thus Spoke Hwang Man-geun ; and his novels are Power of Man and Commanding . He is the recipient of the Korea Times and Dongin Literary Awards.
Yi Kyoung-Ja
Yi Kyoung-Ja (b.1948) made her literary debut in 1973 when she won the Seoul Shinmun New Writer’s Contest with the short story “Confirmation.” Lee sensationalized contemporary society by addressing women’s issues in her short story collection Failure of the Half . Her writings contemplate woman as independent individuals. Her preeminent works are the short story collections Failure of the Half and Hunchback’s Love , along with the novels Suni and The Third House . She is a Han Moo-sook Literary Award recipient.