Kim Seungok
Born in Osaka, Japan in 1941 and raised in Suncheon, South Jeolla Province, Korea, Kim Seungok graduated from the Department of French Language and Literature at Seoul National University. He made his literary debut in 1962 when his short story “Practice for Life” won the Hankook Ilbo New Writer’s Award. In the same year, he founded The Age of Prose , a small literary magazine, along with his friends, such as Kim Hyeon and Choi Ha-rim. Kim launched into a literary career by publishing the short stories “Geon” and “Fantasy Notebook” in the magazine. Throughout the 1960s, he continually published...
Kim So Yeon
Kim So Yeon was born in 1967 in Gyeongju. She was educated at the Catholic University of Korea (BA, MA, Korean Literature). In 1993, she published her first poem “We Praise” in the quarterly Hyundae Poetry and Thought . She has published the poetry collections Pushed to the Limit , The Exhaustion of Stars Pulls the Night , Bones Called Tears , A Mathematician’s Morning , and the essay collections Heart Dictionary , The World of Siot . She is the recipient of the Nojak Literary Award (2010) and the Hyundae Literary Award (2011).
Kim Soo-young
Kim Soo-young (1921~1968) is undisputedly one of the best poets in the history of modern Korean poetry. The Moon’s Mischief is the only collection of his poems published while he was alive. His other works posthumously published include the poetry collections The Big Root and Even If the Moon’s Path Is Trodden ; the essay collections Spit, Poetry and A Portrait of the Puritan , and The Complete Works of Kim Soo-young (Poems, Vol. 1 and Essays, Vol. 2).
Kim Soom
Kim Soom made her literary debut in 1997 as the winner of the Daejeon Ilbo New Writer’s Award for the short story “On Slowness.” She is the author of the short story collection Liver and Gallbladder and the novels Water and Women and Their Evolving Enemies .
Kim Takhwan
Kim Takhwan made his literary debut in 1996 with the novel A Love Story of Twelve Whales . Historical novels are his forte, with several of them being adapted for television and cinema, including How Rueful to Be Forgotten (2002); I, Hwang Jini (2002); Death by Fiction (2003); Hyecho (2008); The Immortal Yi Sun-sin (2004); and Russian Coffee (2009). His most recent novel is The Magician from Joseon (2015).
Kim Uchang
Kim Uchang is a literary critic and scholar of English literature. Born in Hampyeong, South Jeolla Province, in 1937, he graduated from the Department of English Language and Literature at Seoul National University. He debuted in 1965 by publishing the critical essay "The Example of T.S. Eliot" in the magazine Cheongmaek . He received his PhD from Harvard University for his dissertation on the history of American civilization. Kim was a professor of English Literature at Seoul National University and Korea University, and the dean of Korea University Graduate School. Currently, he is professor emeritus at Korea University. He is...
Kim Won Il
Kim Won Il has written extensively on the Korean War. This is related to the fact that his father defected to North Korea during the war. Kim was a senior in high school when the war started and broke his family apart, an experience that was to haunt him throughout his life and prompt him to write about the war and its aftermath for the greater part of his career. His novels include Sunset , Wind and River , Winter Valley , A House with the Sunken Courtyard , Evergreen , The Way to Auraji , and The Rite of...
Kim Yeonsu
Kim Yeonsu is a novelist. Kim debuted in 1993 by publishing a poem in Writer’s World. He published the novels Walking While Pointing to the Mask , Goodbye Mr. Yi Sang, Route 7 , The Night Is Singing , and Wonderboy and the short story collections I Am a Ghost Writer , Twenty , and World's End Girlfriend . Kim has received a number of literary awards, including the Daesan Literary Award and Yi Sang Literary Award.
Kim Young-ha
Kim Young-ha (b.1968) debuted in the quarterly magazine Review in 1995 with the short story “Reflections in the Mirror.” His short story collections include What Happened to the Guy Stuck in the Elevator ? and He’s Back, None the Wiser . His novels are I Have the Right to Destroy Myself , Why Arang , Black Flower , Your Republic Is Calling You , Quiz Show , I Hear Your Voice , and How a Murderer Remembers . He is an op-ed writer for The New York Times and has won the Hyundae Literary Award, the Dong-in Literary Award, and the Yi Sang Literary Award.
Kim Yu-Jeong
Kim Yu-Jeong(1908 ~ 1937) was a Korean novelist. He made his literary debut with the publication of "Wanderer Among the Hills” in 1933. Kim's work was described as "rich and earthy". He wrote approximately 30 short stories, most of which were published in the three years before his death. His 1936 story The Camellias is about the residents of a Korean farming village; its implicit sexuality was more explicit in his 1935 Rain shower . His 1937 story The scorching heat was considered gloomy. He died of pulmonary tuberculosis on March 29, 1937.