Kim Hyesoon
Kim Hyesoon (b. 1955) began her poetry career in 1979 with the quarterly journal Literature and Intelligence . Her poetry collections include From Another Star ; Hell Star ; My Upanishad , Seoul ; A Poor Love Machine ; To the Calendar Factory Manager ; A Glass of Red Mirror ; Your First ; and Sorrowtoothpaste Mirrorcream . She received the Kim Su-young Literary Award, the Midang Award, and the Daesan Literary Award.
Kim Jinkyung
Kim Jinkyung worked as a Korean literature teacher while he was establishing himself as a poet and a novelist. For Cat School , the very first Korean fantasy children’s book series, he was awarded the Le Prix des Incorruptibles, which is a literary award for children and juvenile literature chosen by readers in France. In addition, he is the author of poetry collections Children of Galmunri and The Magic of Sadness , the three-volume series Shadow War and The Wolf , as well as young adult fiction Our Beautiful Country and Goodbye Mr. Hapil , among others.
Kim Joo-Young
Kim Joo-young is a novelist who began his career as a writer with the publication of “A Period of Dormancy” in 1971 in the monthly Literature magazine. His published novels are Tradesman , The Sound of Thunder , A Skate Fish and Goodbye , Mother ; his short story collections are Winter Bird and In Search of a Bird . He is the recipient of the Korea Culture and Art Award and Yi Sang Literary Award as well as numerous other literary prizes. In 2007, he received the Eungwan Cultural medal.
Kim Junghyuk
Kim Junghyuk made his literary debut in 2000 when his novella “Penguin News” was published in the quarterly Literature and Society . His major works include the short story collections Penguin News (2006) and The Library of Musical Instruments (2008), and the novel Mister Monorail (2015). He has won the Kim Yujung Literary Award, Munhakdongne Young Writers’ Award Grand Prize, Today’s Young Artists Award, Lee Hyo-seok Literary Award, and the Dongin Literary Award.
Kim Ki-taek
Kim Ki-taek is a poet. Kim’s poetry collections include Fetal Sleep (1991), Storm in the Eye of a Needle (1994), Office Worke r (1999), Cow (2005), and Chewing Gum (2009). Kim won the Contemporary Literature Award and the Midang Literary Award.
Kim Kwang-Kyu
Questioning the Way Life Is Lived Kim Kwang-Kyu grew up amidst the turmoil of the Korean War and its aftermath. He was born in 1941 in Seoul, and was a student at the time of the 4.19 Revolution in 1960. Kim studied German at Seoul National University as well as in Germany. He first developed his poetic voice by translating German poetry into Korean, including satirical works by Heinrich Heine, Bertolt Brecht, and Günter Eich, before ever beginning to write his own poems. He only began to publish poetry in 1975, when he was already in his mid-30s. Owing nothing...
Kim Kyung-uk
Kim Kyung-uk debuted in 1993 with the novella Outsider published in the quarterly review Writer’s World . His short story collections are Is Leslie Cheung Really Dead? (2005), Risky Reading (2008), God Has No Grandchildren (2011), and Young Hearts Never Grow (2014). His novels are Like a Fairytale (2010) and What Is Baseball? (2013). He won both the Hyundae Literary Award and the Dong-in Literary Award.
Kim Min-jeong
Kim Min-jeong is a poet. She made her debut winning the Munye Joongang New Writer’s Award in 1999. She has published such collections of poetry as Flying Miss Hedgehog and For the First Time, She Felt It .
Kim Nam Jo
A Voice That Sings of Dignity and Love Kim Nam Jo was born in Daegu in 1927 and attended a girls’ school in Kyushu, Japan. She graduated from the College of Education at Seoul National University with a B.A. in Korean education. Kim made her literary debut with the publication of her poem, “Lingering Image,” in Yonhap News in 1950 and launched her career as a poet with her first collection of poems, Life in 1953. Kim’s poems express a subtle and feminine sensibility that carries on a lineage of female poets such as Moh Youn Sook and Noh Cheonmyeong...
Kim Seung-hee
Kim Seung-Hee was born in Gwangju in 1952. Her life as a poet began when she won the New Writers' Award of the Gyeonghyang newspaper in 1973; in 1994 she also gained recognition as a novelist, with the short story " On the way to Santa Fe ." A volume of English translations of some of her earlier poems, I Want to Hijack an Airplane , was published by Homa & Sekey (New York) in 2004; a selection from her more recent collection, Walking on a Washing Line was published by EAS Cornell University in 2011.