Jeong Ji A
Jeong Ji A is a writer. Born in Gurye, South Jeolla Province in 1965, she began her literary career in 1990 when she published her novel The Daughter of a North Korean Partisan (in three volumes) based on the life of her parents. Her short story “Lotus-Persimmon Tree” won the Chosun Ilbo New Writer’s Contest in 1996. She is the author of the short story collections Happiness , Spring Scenery , and Dialogue of the Forest .
Jeong Yi Hyun
Jeong Yi Hyun (b.1972) debuted in 2002 when her short story Romantic Love and Society was published by the quarterly review Literature and Society and won the New Writer’s Award. Her short story collections are Today’s Lie and Romantic Love and Society . My Sweet Seoul , What You Never Know , Goodbye , My Everything are her most well-known novels. She was a recipient of the Hyundae Literary Award.
Jo Jung-Rae
Jo Jung-Rae (b.1948) made his literary debut in 1970 with the short story “False Charge,” which appeared in the monthly magazine Hyundae Munhak . His childhood experiences of the Korean War and Yeosu-Suncheon Rebellion inspired numerous literary works like Taebaek Mountain Range (10 vols.) and Arirang (12 vols.). The Great Jungle (3 vols.) is Jo’s most recent publication. His works have been translated into English, French, German, Japanese, Chinese, and Swedish, and adapted into movies, manhwa, TV dramas, and musicals. He received the Hyundae Literary Award and Korea Literary Award .
Jo Kyung Ran
Jo Kyung Ran made her literary debut in 1996 when her short story “The French Optical” won the Dong-a Ilbo New Writer’s Contest. She is the author of the short story collections Looking for the Elephant (2002) and The Story of a Ladle (2004 ) , I Bought a Balloon (2008), Philosophy of Sunday (2013), and the novels Time for Baking Bread (2001), Tongue (2007), and Blowfish (2010). She is also the recipient of the Hyundae Munhak Award and the Dongin Prize, among others.
Jon Kyongnin
Jon Kyongnin is a writer. She made her literary debut with a short story that won the Dong-A Daily New Writer’s Contest in 1995. She is the author of the short story collections A Goatherd and Water Station , and the novels Nowhere Man and Minimal Love . She has received the Yi Sang Literary Award, and the Hyundae Munhak Award, among other prizes.
Jung Mikyung
Jung Mikyung made her literary debut in 1987 as the winner in the drama category of the JoongAng New Writer’s Award, then went on hiatus before publishing a short story in the quarterly World Literature in 2001. She is the author of the short story collections Bloodstained Lover , They Gave Me Balkan Roses , My Son’s Girlfriend , and The French Laundry ; the novels La Vie en Rose , The Strange Sorrow of Wonderland , and Stars of Africa . She is the winner of the 2006 Yi Sang Literary Award.
Kang Young-sook
Kang Young-sook (b.1967) debuted in 1998 when she won the Seoul Shinmun New Writer’s Contest with the short story “Dinner in August.” Her published works include the short story collection A Night of Dumbbell Exercises ; and the novels Rina , Writing Club , and Tragicomic Miss Teletubby . She received the Hankook Ilbo Literary Award.
Kim Ae-ran
Kim Ae-ran made her literary debut with a short story that won the 1st Daesan Literary Award in 2002. She is the author of the short story collections Run, Pop, Run!, A Pool of Saliva , and Vapor Trail , and the novel The Youngest Parents with the Oldest Child . Kim has received a number of literary awards, including the Hankook Ilbo Literary Award and Today’s Young Artists Award.
Kim Chunsu
Kim Chunsu was born in 1922 in Tongyeong. He studied at the Art Department of Nihon University in Japan. He has been a professor at Masan University and Kyungpook National University. He received the Asia Freedom Literature Prize and Korea Literary Prize, among others. His poetry collections include Clouds and Roses , The Swamp , Flag , Death of a Boy in Budapest , Possessed by Dostoyevsky , and the collections of selected poems The Snow Falling on Chagall’s Village and The Selected Poems of Kim Chun-soo . His most noted works are “The Flower,” “An Introductory Poem for a Flower,” and others.
Kim Hoon
Kim Hoon was born in 1948. His extensive journalism career started in 1973 at The Hankook Ilbo and stretched through the years at The Sisa Press, The Kookmin Ilbo, and The Hankyoreh. He made his literary debut well past the age of 40, but has received numerous awards since: the Dongin Literary Award in 2001 for his novel Song of the Sword ; the Yi Sang Literary Award in 2004 for his short story “Cremation”; the Hwang Sun-won Literary Award in 2005 for his short story “My Sister’s Menopause”; and the Daesan Literary Award in 2007 for his novel Fortress on Mt. Namhan .