Ha Chang-soo
Ha Chang-soo is a writer. Born in Pohang, North Gyeongsang Province in 1960, he made his literary debut in 1987 when his novella "Cheongsanyugam" won the Munye Joongang Literary Award for Best First Novel. He is the author of the short story collections Picking Daffodils and The Man Who Passed Through Thirty Gates , and the novels Trap, People Who Don’t Turn Around , and 1987 . He is also the recipient of the Hankook Daily Literary Award.
Ha Seong-nan
Ha Seong-nan (b.1967) debuted with the short story, "Grass," which won the literary contest held by the Seoul Sinmun in 1996. She also wrote Rubin’s Glass , The Woman Next Door , Bluebeard's First Wife , Flatbread , Pleasure of Eating , Sapporo Inn , Central Character in My Movie , and A . Ha has won the Dongin Literary Award, Hankook Ilbo Literary Award, and Hyundae Literary Award.
Han Kang
Han Kang is a writer and professor of creative writing at the Seoul Institute of the Arts. She debuted with a poem in the winter volume of the quarterly Literature and Society in 1993 and her short story “Red Anchor” won the Seoul Shinmun New Writer’s Contest the following year. She is the author of short story collections including Love in Yeosu ; The Fruit of My Woman ; and Fire Salamander , and novels including Black Deer ; Your Cold Hands ; The Vegetarian ; Leave Now, The Wind Is Blowing ; and Greek Lessons . She is also...
Han Yujoo
Han Yujoo is a novelist. In 2003, she made her literary debut by winning the new writer’s award from Literature and Society. She has published the short story collections To the Moon, The Book of Ice , and My Left Hand Is the King and My Right Hand Is His Scribe . Her short story “Mak” won the Hankook Ilbo Literary Award in 2009.
Hwang Jungeun
Hwang Jungeun made her literary debut in 2005 when she won the Kyunghyang Daily News New Writer’s Award for her short story “Mother.” Her published books include the short story collections Into the World of Passi (2013) and The Elephant Train That Leaves at 7:32 (2014), and the novels One Hundred Shadows (2010), The Barbaric Miss Alice (2013), and I’ll Continue (2014). She has won the Hankook Ilbo Literary Award, Sin Dong-yup Prize for Literature, Lee Hyo-seok Literary Award, the 3rd and 4th Munhakdongne Young Writers’ Award, and the 5th Munhakdongne Young Writers’ Award Grand Prize.
Hwang Sok-yong
Always in the Thick of It Hwang Sok-yong was born in Changchun, Manchuria in 1943. After the liberation from Japanese occupation, he moved to his mother’s hometown Pyongyang, where he lived with his mother’s side of the family. In 1947, his family moved to the South and he grew up in Yeongdeungpo. Hwang left Kyungbok High School in 1962 and left home to wander the southern provinces. He returned home in October, and in November of that year he won the New Author Literary Prize from the magazine Sasanggye for his short story, “Near the Marking Stone.” Hwang lived life...
Hwang Tong-gyu
The Enduring Spirit of Creation Born in April 1938, Hwang Tong-gyu graduated from the English Department of Seoul National University and went on to study at Edinburgh University in the UK. He was a professor at Seoul National University from 1968 until his retirement in 2003, and now he devotes his time to composing poetry. His father, Hwang Sun-won, was an established novelist. As a sophomore at Seoul University in 1958, the younger Hwang began writing poetry at the recommendation of poet Seo Jeong-ju. From the time of his first collection, One Clear Day (1961), until his most recent, Joy...
Jeong Chan
Jeong Chan is a novelist. Jung debuted with the publication of a novella in the magazine World of Language , in 1983. His story collections include The River of Memory , The Road of Comfort , and Die in Venice . His novels include Evening of the World , Golden Ladder , Under the Broom Tree , Wilderness , and A Wanderer . He has won many literary awards, including the Dongin Literary Award.
Jeong Do-sang
Since 1987, Jeong Do-sang’s (b. 1960) works have relentlessly explored the organizational violence and social mechanisms that suppress free will and the conditions of life. He won the Yosan Literary Award and the Beautiful Writer Award in 2008 for his serial novel Brier Rose.