Paik Gahuim
Paik Gahuim (b. 1974) made his literary debut in 2001 when he won the Seoul Shinmun New Writer’s Award. He is the author of the short story collections, The Cricket Is Crying , Manager Jo’s Trunk , and The Hint is “Brother-in-law,” as well as the novel, Naphthalene .
Park Keum-san
Park Keum-san is a novelist. Park made his literary debut with “Accomplice” for the literary journal Munye Joongang in 2001. Kim’s novels include Island Table and Pretending to Exist, Not to Exist . He has also published a serialized novel Body Painting and the short story collections A Birthday Present and Did She See My Toes ?
Park Kyung-Ri
She was born in Tongyeong, Gyeongsangnam-do Province in 1926 and died in Wonju, Gangwon-do Province in 2008. Park studied at Jinju Girls’ High School and went on to teach at many different schools. She was at Yeonan Girls’ Middle School in Hwanghae-do Province when the Korean War broke out in 1950. Her husband died in the war. After the war, she devoted her life to her writing. She made her debut by publishing a short story in Hyundae Munhak at the recommendation of Kim Tong-ni, a prominent Korean writer. Park Kyung-Ri’s representative work, Land , is an in-depth portrayal of...
Park Seongwon
Park Seongwon was born in 1969 in Daegu. He debuted in 1994 with the short story "The Will" in Literature and Society . He is a professor of creative writing at Keimyung University. He is the recipient of the Today's Young Artists Award, the Hyundae Literary Award, the Hyundae Buddhist Literature Award, and the Han Moosuk Literary Award. He has published the short story collections Steal Me , We Run , What Makes a City , and One Day .
Park Wansuh
Park emerged onto the Korean literary scene in 1970 at the age of 40 years old, when she entered her novel, The Naked Tree , into a competition run by a women’s magazine. Korea maintains a peculiar system where, in order to gain recognition as a poet or a novelist, one must win a competition held by a literary magazine or newspaper recognized by influential critics and authors. Park made a relatively late debut, in contrast to most up-and-coming writers, who emerge on the literary stage in their 20s. But she remained highly prolific until her death in 2011, and...
Pyo Myoung-hee
Pyo Myoung-hee made her literary debut when she won the Changbi Prize for New Figures in Literature in 2001 with her short story, “Nocturnal Scenery.” She is the author of the short story collections Exit No.3 and Housemate , and the novels, Off Road Diary and The Gold Rush .
Pyun Hye Young
Pyun Hye Young debuted when she won the Seoul Shinmun New Writer’s Contest in 2000 with the short story “Shaking of Dew.” Her major works include the short story collections Mallow Gardens (2005), Heading for a Breeding Farm (2007), Evening Proposal (2011), Night Passes (2013) and novels such as Ashes and Red (2010), They Went to the Forest in the West (2012), and The Law of Lines (2015). She won the Hankook Ilbo Literary Award and the Dong-in Literary Award.